101 Lessons To Be A Damn Good Speaker | Deepshikha Kumar | Book Review

We all are speakers in a way or the other but have you ever wondered what makes a speaker a damn good speaker?

101 Lessons To Be A Damn Good Speaker includes real-time lessons, learnings, insights and takeaways from different speakers. It is divided in three parts:

1. Content
2. Delivery
3. YOUR Brand as a Speaker

The best thing for me about this book is that it’s to the point and written in a crisp manner. Writing style is simple and engaging. The comics style visuals in the books made the reading experience more interesting and enjoyable. This book talks to you and imbibes you with its content and feels like an important read. A quick but important read.

We have always heard that if we want to improve our speaking skills we should practice standing in front of the mirror. I have done that too and it has helped too. But there is a point in this book which says, ” AVOID THE MIRROR” , ‘Over practice, especially the ones in front of a mirror makes one conscious. The more seriously you will look at yourself, the more conscious , you will get. Practice in front of dogs, walls, in the balcony or even in front of trees- but not the mirror.’ I partially agree with this point.

Being a public speaker has come to me naturally and I have improved over the years by accepting the feedback and special tips given by my teachers, friends and fellow speakers. But something this book actually taught me and helped me understand better is how I can build my brand, from not compromising on myself, asking for money to speak,to being digitally present, creating a speaker’s resume and going the extra mile for your audience.

I enjoyed reading this book and it doesn’t happen much for me to enjoy a non-fiction read. This one feels like a must have. Everyone please do give it a read, highly recommended.

MY RATING- 4/5

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Leave a comment